Persistence, Not Luck


“When I thought I couldn’t go on, I forced myself to keep going. My success is based on persistence, not luck.”

Estee Lauder ~ 1906-2004, Entrepreneur

 

 

{photo courtesy of http://spri.uno.edu/}

I don’t ever play the Lotto, even the Scratch-off. Maybe because I don’t like to gamble. Maybe because I find it difficult to pass over hard-earned dollars for a card that MAY or may not hold the answer to all my problems.

 

I don’t believe is there is one answer. There are a lot of little answers, the way I answer the call of the early a.m. alarm to workout; the way I answer to my 7-year-old’s storytime vs. Facebook time; the way I answer the nagging questions about plot and character developement in my novel.

Little answers = little steps + continued momentum forward = SUCCESS

How about you – Are you pushing through with persistence?

This week, I plan to:

  • Complete 4 exercises in Writing the Breakout Novel workbook.
  • Send welcome packet to Summer Studio students
  • Resistance train 4 x (2 upper, 2 lower)

Share your climb with us!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Blog subscriptions make you look thinner! Don’t believe me? Subscribe to mine today!

 

 

4 Comments

Filed under Believe, Fun Stuff, goals

4 responses to “Persistence, Not Luck

  1. Rene Peterson

    There are examples of this all around us. I have found that the easiest way for me to stay persistent in writing was to broaden the definition of what those steps were in progress to my goal. I used to define it narrowly as the time I would sit and write out pages of rough copy or sit and focus on plot, character development, etc. This often left me disheartened because, as a full-time middle school teacher and mom, I simply cannot sit every day for 1-2 hours and whip out copy. Recently I finished reading “The Artist’s Way” and realized that every step – no matter how little – can be considered a step towards my writing goal. Lifting that pressure to perform has done wonders for the work in progress. Ideas come to me unbidden as I go about painting the room that will soon be my creative space (as an example). I am taking time to play the piano and sing with my son. I leaf through pretty coffeetable photo books and see pictures that trigger ideas. Broadening that scope of what constitutes a “step” has allowed me to feel success every day which further motivates me to continue being persistent.

    • Renee, firstly – LOVE LOVE LOVE The Artist’s Way! I’m currently reading Jeff Olson’s The Slight Edge (same theme re: small steps, building momentum and staying the course to see results) I really like your idea of broadening your definition of a “Step” – so often we do mini steps throughout the day that get us to that end result, but seem so small and insignificant (like picking up a penny from the sidewalk) that we blow it off or don’t give ourselves credit for getting it done. Keep going!

  2. Kim

    I never really saw the value in little steps until I let myself relax and enjoy my days as a SAHM without putting pressure on myself to turn out award-winning pieces of writing. Then I realized the awesomeness of getting working done in little steps and how the create a huge gift to me.

Leave a Reply

