“Magic is believing in yourself…”


“Magic is believing in yourself, if you can do that, you can make anything happen.”

Johann Wolfgang von Goethe ~ 1749-1832, Poet, Novelist and Philosopher

 

When a process doesn’t work, you need to break it down and see where the fault line lies. I’ve been struggling with the “Commit to 3” practice. No kidding, right? I’m sure you can tell from my sporadic Monday postings.

So, let’s break it down: Am I  procrastinating because I just dread the things on my to-do list? Maybe a little, but some tasks are fun, like writing a new fight scene for my YA novel.  Maybe this is just another trait of being an ACOA – resisting authority – even if it’s by my own authority. That is very possible. {More on ACOA traits later; because it is a central theme in my novel.} Maybe these to-do’s aren’t very important on a daily or weekly basis and other, more pressing tasks take priority. Bingo!

I wasn’t scheduling to-do’s based on my overall goals. So, what are my overall goals?

With the help of my new Personal Trainer, Dani (check her out – she’s AWESOME!!), I discovered that I needed to write down my PRIORITIES for life, first. Or else fall into the chaos of mile long to-do lists with no real purpose.

Wanna do this together? Let’s go!

Step One: List your Top 5 Priorities for your LIFE . For example, look at each life category and list who/what is truly important to you and your happiness/fulfillment. Really give this some thought:

Family/Friends

Job/Career

Personal Health in Body & Mind

Spirituality/Humanitarianism

Finance

Home/Travel

 

Step Two: write down specific visions for your selected categories, what the ideal looks like to you. Use details. See my examples, below. (You may have several in one category and none in others, that’s fine – these are your priorities! )

Side Note: Don’t feel guilty if your list is heavy in the “you” category. Remember, when you are happy and well-balanced, you bring rewards to all areas and people in your life. I know that by reaching and maintaining a healthy weight will give me the energy and confidence I need to go after those other goals!

After several drafts, here is my final version:

My Top 5 Priorities for Life

  1. Reach and maintain a healthy size 4, with toned definition all-over.
  2. Have a home that is simplified and uncluttered, which will inspire creativity and be a safe haven for my family.
  3. Earn my full-time income and benefits through writing books, teaching workshops, speaking at events and having multiple streams of income (on-line platform? Rental space?)
  4. Have inner peace and balance, living in the present so I can be a supportive wife and mom.
  5. Financially secure with a healthy retirement savings and college funds for both boys, at the same time able to vacation four times/year.

What are yours? Share them here!!

Tomorrow, we’ll look at setting your Top 10 Goals, and how to make sure they align with your Top Priorities.

~~~~~~~

Too much to see and do in Bloggy-land? Then SUBSCRIBE! Let these posts come to you while you stay in the safety of your inbox 😉

5 Comments

Filed under Advice, Believe, Commit to 3, goals, Organization, procrastination, writers

5 responses to ““Magic is believing in yourself…”

  1. Kim

    I like how you’ve captured the big picture of your priorities as well as the specific details of each one to make them attainable. #2, a cleaner house, is something that I don’t realize how important it is until I have a clean house. It amazes me how much better I feel overall living in a clean, clutter-free home. Sadly, I’m not great at keeping it that way, which makes #2 one of my priorities as well 🙂 Thank you for sharing this with us!

  2. Thanks, Kim. I’m so glad you found it helpful. I’m a big picture girl, but tend to also get lost in the details and just say “Forget it! There are too many steps to get from here to there.” But, hopefully in this 3-part series, I’ll break it down how I understand it, and help us all get a little closer to reaching those big picture goals 🙂

  3. Pingback: Part 2 in the 3-part series to Stop the Chaos | Writers Inspired

  4. Pingback: Part 3 in the 3-part series to Stop the Chaos | Writers Inspired

  5. Liz

    Many of the same goals, Mary Jo! 🙂 Great post.

Leave a Reply

