Tuesdays With…


Young Author (and a student of mine!) Melissa Smith.

Melissa is an exceptional writer, always wowing her peers in our writer workshops. She is not only a poet, novelist, short story writer and musician, but also a song lyricist.

As writers, we know it takes guts to put our thoughts and feelings to paper and even more courage to put those words out into the world for others to read, connect with and reach back  through comments. Please join me in congratulating young writer, Melissa, on her strength to share her song lyrics here with us.

Hopeless Daydreams

Long ago, far away

That time was a different place.

I was in a constant day-dream

Never waking, never seeing.

*

You came to me

And suddenly

*

I woke up and came to my senses.

I was almost too much to process.

This life here was open to me.

This life with you was meant to be.

*

I open my eyes, and I see sunshine.

Outside now, the moon is down.

I’m not dreaming, I’m now living

In this life you’ve made for me.

*

You came to me

And suddenly

*

I woke up and came to my senses.

It was almost too much to process.

This life here was open to me.

This life with you was meant to be.

*

Long lost treasures, hopeful measures

Of a song, lost and gone.

It echoes somewhere deep inside me.

I can’t fight it; no more day-dreams.

*

You sang to me

And suddenly

*

I closed my eyes and became renewed.

Dreaming isn’t too bad to do.

Everyone and everything

Long lost wishes, hopeless day-dreams.

Bio:

Melissa Smith is 14 years old and about to graduate middle school. She aspires to be the next great novelist and immensely enjoys watching (her future husband!) Rafael Nadal play tennis. She is a student member of yalitchat.org. If you’re a member, too, please visit some of her other works at yalichat.org.

3 Comments

Filed under Believe, Inspiration, Perseverance, Young Adults

3 responses to “Tuesdays With…

  1. The lyrics are lovely, keep up your writing, Melissa. It’s frequently not easy and sometimes painful, but it’s also uplifting and satisfying. Best of luck –

  2. Kim

    Melissa, this is wonderful! I love the way your words flow and the meaning behind each one. Writing poetry is such a challenge for me, and I am inspired to write after reading your poem. Thank you for sharing it with us today!

  3. Way to go Melissa! I commend you on your boldness to take a risk and share your work. My daughter is almost twelve and she has a passion for writing – stories, poems and lyrics too. I will tell you the same thing I tell her. Go for it. Embrace it and then share it.
    I need to take my own advice as well.

Leave a Reply

