Help for Hump Day!


Inspiring writers is what I do, but sometimes I need a little inspiration myself. Thankfully, I read this amazing post and Writing Workout on Teaching Authors, where April Halprin Wayland helped me to find focus by creating shorter weekly goals followed by a mini-reward.

I know you guys overwhelm yourself with to-do’s, just like I do! So, in (trying to) keep in line with my Year of Happiness, I’m going to commit to 3 things every week. Little, easy, but satisfying-when-completed things.

I’m officially making this a weekly series on Writers Inspired called “Commit to 3.” Because we all need a little motivation and ACCOUNTABILITY, right? (We’ll check-in on Mondays, going forward)

It works like this:

1) Grab a buddy from your writing tribe. (We can be your writing tribe!)
2) Both of you write three commitments for the coming week. Don’t set yourself up to fail. Don’t commit to writing a novel in a week. Start out easy and see what you can realistically accomplish in seven days.
3) Set a deadline.
4) Select a “salary” you will pay yourself. The important thing is to pay yourself every week whether you’ve completed all three commitments or not. Don’t business execs get paid even when they’ve had an unproductive week? It happens. This is not about whipping yourself. This is encouraging yourself. Put the whip away and take the paycheck.
5) Read your commitments to each other.
4) Check in with each other at the end of the week.

For example: I commit to meditating 20 minutes once a week, writing for three hours this week, and being in bed by 10 pm at least two days of the week. My due date is Thursday at 8 pm. On Friday, I will pay myself seven dollars worth of flowers for my garden. Now it’s your turn:

My Commitment to Me
I commit to:
1._____________________
2._____________________
3._____________________

My due date is:
_____________________
My salary is:
_____________________
Don’t forget to call your writing buddy at the end of the week to check in!

Who’s with me?

My Commitment to Me (Mary Jo)
I commit to:
1.__Design Sam’s Storybook and put in all orders from class

2.__Write 2,000 more words for my 2010 NaNo (while the characters & plot are fresh in my mind

3.__Print all chapters of my NaNo 2010 novel, put in binder

My due date is:
_Sat., 1/22_____
My salary is:
_manicure @ Lily Nails________

 Confession:

Because I’m a super freak about lists and corralling everything that swims through my mind, I did make a BIG list of everything I feel needs to get done this month. (Doesn’t leave me a lot of time, I know.) But, it makes me feel better that it is all written down and won’t disappear into my madness. I’m still only focused on 3 for this week. Feel free to do the same.

To inspire you, here are some other Commitments from my fellow writing tribe:

 JENNI

1. finish first draft of press release
2. Work out once this week
3. Lights out by 10pm at least one night this week (boy, do I need the incentive for this)

Due date: Saturday, 1-22
Salary: a pint of carrot juice (no laughing!)

Liz > >

I commit to:

1. Read / review 3 chapters of my NaNo Novel
2. Finalize and submit article for RPPs
3. Post on blog once

My due date is:
Sunday, January 23
My salary is: Bath bombs (3)

 Julie’s
1. Complete Goodies article
2. Draft DIY article
3. Volunteer at daughter’s school

Due: Friday, January 21
Salary: Schedule appointment for massage (I have a gift certificate).

 Joanna –
This week:
1. Draft all newsletter items by end of Wednesday so the directors can proof and edit if necessary.
2. Start travel piece for regional mag. 
3. Contact source for (removed for privacy) article.
4. Post on blog by end of today.

Okay, that’s 4 goals, but they actually need to happen.

Deadline: Friday, Jan. 21
Salary: movie night for myself even it’s only Netflix.

Stephanie’s goals:

1. Get up 4 mornings before kids and write morning pages.
2. Complete first draft of new essay
3. Exercise every day.

Due date: Sunday 1-23-11
Payment: a trip to Village Books with my little $9 credit.

Copy and paste your “Commit to 3” in the comments. Let’s keep each other accountable – but realistic. And don’t forget to Pay YOURSELF!

1 Comment

Filed under goals, Inspiration

One response to “Help for Hump Day!

  1. Pingback: Commit to 3 | Writers Inspired

Leave a Reply

