The edge of beginning


Sometimes when you think you are done, it is just the edge of beginning. Probably that’s why we decide we’re done. It’s getting too scary. We are touching down onto something real. It is beyond the point when you think you are done that often something strong
comes out. 

~ Natalie Goldberg

I keep this quote tacked to my cork board next to my writing desk. I read it almost daily, but reading something that often tends to lose its freshness and impact.

So, I thought, I’d post the quote and let my readers mull over its meaning.

Today, this quote is the reminder that my novel, though on its umpteenth revision, is not yet complete.  Until Lily’s story and experiences with her alcoholic mother make me cry, I still have work to do.

How close to “beginning” are you?

~~~~~~~~~~

Encouraged by my bumpy path of novel writing? Want more? SUBSCRIBE to this blog and never miss a tragic moment 😉

2 Comments

Filed under Advice, Perseverance, writers block, writing inspiration

2 responses to “The edge of beginning

  1. Boy, this quote sure does speak to me! On several fronts, I am standing at the threshold. I am trying to complete my first novel…which is very scary territory for a writer who has mostly written news articles and poetry. I am trying to make the jump from one career to another or find a way to combine my three loves – writing, spirituality, and teaching – into one.
    Thanks for posting this…I will be keeping it close at hand in the days ahead.
    Peace! Linda

Leave a Reply

