“Before you begin a thing, remind yourself …


“…that difficulties and delays quite impossible to foresee are ahead. You can only see one thing clearly, and that is your goal. Form a mental vision of that and cling to it through thick and thin.”

~Kathleen Norris, 1880-1966, Novelist

“Difficulties and delays” – this is where I am today. I need to push through the false starts and focus on my mental vision:

FINISH NOVEL REVISIONS

FIND AGENT

FIND PUBLISHER

SELL BOOK

Describe your vision…

3 Comments

Filed under Advice

3 responses to ““Before you begin a thing, remind yourself …

  1. Thank you for the reminder! The picture of my goal is clear to me only when I remember to look. Writing is the method that moves me forward. All I need to do is write, and like a mother to a child, I remind myself that this is what I want to do. The pleasure of writing is not a sin. It does not diminish “the work” I do. I am achieving the goal by taking pleasure in the process that gets me exactly there.

  2. Such great advice from Kathleen Norris. Thanks,

    ML

Leave a Reply

