Help for Hump Day: Picture your success


“When you paint success pictures in your mind, you initiate an inner process whereby your attitudes, hopes, aspirations, and enthusiasm are elevated in response to an image of a more promising future. Every person who aspires must first sell themselves hope, the promise of a better life.” 

U.S. Andersen ~ 1917-1986, Author of The Magic In Your Mind  

If you’re familiar with The Secret or Law of Attraction, you may already have a Vision Board. A Vision Board is a snapshot of your life the way you visualize it being in the near future, in the form of a collage. 

Though I haven’t actually pasted my success picture into one place, I do have a collection of images, quotes, personal notes and momentos that give me ammunition to keep going. 

Keep going despite a rejection letter. Keep going despite family and work schedules crowding out my designated writing time. Keep going despite my unsatisfying query letter, written and rewritten 18,000 times. 

Here are some images (material things I’d love to acquire) and supporting words that keep me going: 

{from the movie EVENING}

 

{Mercury Milan}

 

(email from Amy 11/27/06) 

 Good morning. I have to say MJ, you are one talented writer! I didn’t get to read your story until this morning, but I couldn’t stop once I started! What awesome characters, and your descriptions of things made me feel I was right there seeing it. You need to work towards making this something you can do every chance you get! Wow, I am truly blown away. I don’t know what I expected, but it was great! Lets work hard on making our passions our daily work! 

email from another friend: 

Your writing is incredible. I seriously could see myself sitting for hours reading more, because just after the 15 pages or so, I want to know more about these characters! 

email from a teacher who attended my teacher workshop: 

Author : Debbie K. 

Wednesday, April 28, 2010 12:03:33 PM 

 Hi Mary Jo,

  

Just wanted to let you know I started my fiction writing unit this week. So, Monday I used the sixth sense cards from the writer’s toolbox. The kids in my class loved it…oh my gosh, I don’t think they realized they were writing for over an hour. They wanted to keep going and going and going with the pass along stories. It was great. 

 comments from writer friends on my novels-in-progress summaries: 

motherlogue  3 April 27, 2010 7:36 AM    

Thanks for a great interview. I loved reading more about your two novels in progress, Mary Jo. I can’t wait to buy my copies. Here’s to the Year of Clarity! 

Kristine  4 April 27, 2010 8:25 AM    

Mary Jo, your novel in progress looks great! Finish writing it NOW!! I will buy it:) You know I’m a fan! 

email reply on a flash fiction piece I submitted for a contest: 

Terrific again! 

You did not pay for a checkmark evaluation, but one evaluator did the work and gave you a Perfect 70! 

Feedback on another short fiction contest entered: 

OVERVIEW 

The exquisite eye for detail immediately strikes me. (I wouldn’t be surprised in the least if you’re also an artist or sculptor.) The prose, smooth and perceptive, rolls ever so delicately across the page. This establishes a consistent pace and casts an eerie mood upon the carnival setting. And the clever use of the mirrors—nice job! No wonder this entry made it to the Second Finals. 

I’ll put these together on a Vision Board, one day. Though I know where they are for easy reference when I need that ammunition to Keep Going

Who or what is on your painting of success? Share with us! 

 ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ 

Need help for hump day – or any day- to get past the doubt and negativity? How about having these messages of inspiration delivered to your inbox? Click Subscribe at the top of this page. Ask…and you shall receive!

Leave a comment

Filed under Advice, Inspiration, Perseverance

Leave a Reply

