Emotional Monday


{image: janezlifeandtimes.wordpress.com}

We all need to vent, right? Where better than here, on my blog, for my readers to cheer or weep with me? I know, this is Writers INSPIRED. But I can’t be Mary -freaking-sunshine 24/7, my head may explode and I kind of like my head.

Though today will not be a rant but a rave. Just a general “feeling good” zone I’ve slipped in to. Yes, it’s  a natural euphoria I’m feeling lately. Why? Let me count the reasons…

  1. Spring has finally arrived in Chicago! Warm sunshine, soothing breezes, trees in bloom; my kids can now play OUTside 🙂
  2. My husband’s new business is up and running and I am so proud of the work he’s done so far and that he’s following his passion (P.S. Today is our 13 year wedding anniversary!)
  3. I work with some pretty cool people who “get” me and if I have to be in a cubicle all day, well, they’re the people I want with me. Abusing the internal intercom system and all ; )
  4. One of the teachers from my recent mini Teacher Workshop wrote on the Teacher Page about the success she’s having in her 6th grade class by putting to use the exercises I introduced! YIPPEE! I LOVE luring in more young writers. This way, my little pretties…
  5. I finally revived my completed novel from the recesses of the “NaNo ’08” file on my desktop. I printed that bad boy out. 15 + chapters, plot outline, character sketches and “unconnected” scenes. And you know what? It’s not as bad as I thought it was when pounding it out in mass quantities two November’s ago. Of course, I was hyped up on  caffeine and crazy deadlines. It’s actually pretty good. I am excited, giddy even, to get started on the revision process and may even blog about that bumpy road here…

So, what emotion are you wearing on your sleeve today? Do share.  (For more “happiness” posts, subscribe to Christina Katz‘s The Prosperous Writer newsletter, she’ll add a collection of happy posts in her next issue! And, she just rocks. So there.)

6 Comments

Filed under Advice, emotion

6 responses to “Emotional Monday

  1. Thanks, dear. You rock too. Glad you found your inner smile again. I knew you would, of course. 🙂

  2. Congratulations on your 13 year anniversary, and all your other successes, Mary Jo!

    Although I have mountains of laundry to do and unpaid bills to cope with, after a hectic weekend, I feel good today, because (for starters):

    1. The sun is shining!

    2. I wrapped up my two poem-a-day challenges in style, and rather than running on empty at the end, my last few poems were some of my best.

    3. I just started Amy Paturel’s essay writing class yesterday (that I won in an essay writing competition), and it promises to be great fun, as well as very informational!

    4. I participated in my first ever book reading and signing over the weekend, at Barnes & Noble, along with 9 other wonderful local contributors to the Cup of Comfort series.

    So I will be smiling my way through the day, even as I play catch up with household chores. 🙂

    • Cara, Thank you for the anniversary wishes! And holey moley – a reading and Signing?! That’s enough to make you sing through your laundry! (well, almost.) Congrats to you on all of these amazing accomplishments.

  3. Congratulations on *liking* your novel. It’s wonderful to revisit old material and think “hey this is some good shit.”

Leave a Reply

