Help for Hump Day


"Looking Up", original drawing by Dave Campbell

“Set your sights high, the higher the better. Expect the most wonderful things to happen, not in the future but right now. Realize that nothing is too good. Allow absolutely nothing to hamper you or hold you up in any way.” ~ Eileen Caddy, Author

  

Where are your sights set? Can you see it in front of you, now, this very minute?

I’m sitting on my wrap around porch overlooking the river, in a white Adirondack chair crafted by my handy husband. Notebook in my lap, cuppa joe at my side. Ideas swirling, dipping and weaving on the summer breeze, flowing in me, through me. Onto the paper.

I want to write about the old-fashioned meaning of the word queer, before it became an ugly insult. (I’ve been reading Virginia Woolf.)

I want to write about a black bird with flame red markings on its wings; it settles on the roof of a minivan and leaves a permanent curse on the family within. I want to write about the warmth of the morning sun on my face, the time I waited for Dave to finish an emergency alarm security job as I sat in his company truck, scribbling madly of the insane couple that lived there, the creepy grown boy who lurked about, who was watching me from the woods at that moment.

Of course, I have no wrap around porch or Adirondack chair, though my husband had built one in our previous life. I sit in my cubicle, tapping away at keys before my workday begins. The work that brings me a steady paycheck and the security of health benefits. My dream just at the edge of reality…

Is your dream taking shape, living within you today? The more detailed, the more real, the easier to get over the hump of a Wednesday.

 

2 Comments

Filed under Believe, emotion, Inspiration

2 responses to “Help for Hump Day

  1. ayunda

    I have LOTS of things I want to write about, but at the time I start writing, I felt like the story’s bad, the character’s bad, etc. And I’ll end up quitting. That’s why I mostly make short stories 🙂
    But now, I’m trying to make a novel, wish me luck! And thanks to NaNoWriMo, I could focus myself to writing and write my first novel.
    Update more, and great blog! 😀

    • Thanks, Ayunda! We all go through the “yuck” phases of ideas turning to nothing, but the joy of writing is in the experimentation.

      I’m a fellow NaNo’er myself! In fact, I finally printed out my novel completed in 2008’s NaNoWriMo. I’ll be revising each chapter little by little and blogging about the process here. More to come on that ! Stay tuned and keep writing!!

Leave a Reply

