Feeling lucky? Well, are ya, punk? (courtesy of ‘Dirty Harry’)


“One half of life is luck; the other half is discipline – and that’s the important half, for without discipline you wouldn’t know what to do with luck.” Carl Zuckmeyer 1896-1977, Writer and Playwright

Interesting concept. How many times have you said “if only…?”

OK. Say you got your wish, your bit of luck. POOF! Now what? Are you ready? Is your discipline in place to take full advantage of this windfall?

If the rainbow’s end landed in my palm, my “luck” that would look like this:

My husband’s new painting and trim business reaches the  level of success which would replace my full-time income, allowing me to write and teach full-time.

>insert angels singing here<

But, my discipline has not yet reached the level it needs to be for my writing and teaching to take off at a  full-time pace. Hope Clark wrote an informative article in her newsletter on how to know when to quit your day job.  Also, tomorrow on the  Hell or High Water blog Bonnie Hearn Hill offers “Five Tips for Finding Time to Write When You Have a Full Time Job.”

So, what does “luck” look like for you, and are you ready to receive it?

3 Comments

Filed under Advice, Believe, goals, Inspiration, Perseverance, teaching, writers

3 responses to “Feeling lucky? Well, are ya, punk? (courtesy of ‘Dirty Harry’)

  1. I feel like I’ve been working pretty hard, so I’m ready for some luck.

Leave a Reply

