Make it Happen Monday!


So, to make better use of the 10 hours I spend each week in my car commuting to and from my day job, I’ve been putting my CD player to work by listening to audio books I loan from my library.

I’ve “read” Faulkner’s The Sound and the Fury, Harper Lee’s To Kill a Mockingbird (again) and Michael Cunningham’s The Hours.

Canfield bookBut last week, it was a week of positive thinking and renewed motivation, while I listened to Jack Canfield’s The Success Principles: How to Get From Where You Are to Where You Want to Be. I’m a fan of Canfield’s work and message.  How better to start your day (in the midst of slow-moving traffic on the highway) than to sip a hot mug of coffee and listen to inspiring stories of those who started with nothing and ended where they wanted to be: successful, happy, fulfilled and excited about life.

The Success Principles is a book, which needs several readings, I’ve discovered.  There are exercises to complete as you go along, which I am slowly completing on my own at home.  The first is lists (yay, lists!) of 30: 30 Things You Want to Have; 30 Things You Want to Do and 30 Things You Want to Be.

Might sound easy, but try it! The key is to give as much detail to your lists as possible – to begin a fluid vision in your mind and imagine that you’ve already achieved everything on each of these lists. This begins with “where you are.”

So, where are you?  Where do you want to be? Make it HAPPEN!!

Check-in: Instead of thinking “I should go for a walk after dinner” I WENT for a walk after dinner. I found a pastel chalk drawing with “Katarina” spelled out in bubble letters on a driveway; the creaking singing of crickets; a dad and his little girl jogging together; a few title ideas for short stories or possibly for my next NaNo Novel…I learned: when the inclination strikes – make a fire!

2 Comments

Filed under Advice, Believe, books, goals, Inspiration, Perseverance

2 responses to “Make it Happen Monday!

  1. I’m a big fan of listening to books on long car trips with the whole family! We put in those classics that we think we’re supposed to be reading! And come out all the better for it (if they like it, that is. You never know with kids!)

    And I’ve been walking every night after dinner, too– it’s a great way to come up with story ideas, titles, etc….everything you’ve been doing!

Leave a Reply

