My Day of Play…


…actually turned into two days of play.

Instead of obsessing over to-do lists and deadlines and growing paper piles, I took 2 days off of “working” and played in the following ways:

  1. Visited a local indie bookstore
  2. Bought two books on writing: one for my writing students (Writing Magic, Creating Stories That Fly, by Gail Carson Levine) and one for my novel-writing self (A Novel in a Year: From First Page to Last in 52 Weeks, by Louise Doughty)
  3. Made a great local contact for my young writing programs.
  4. Was invited to a book reading and signing for mid-July
  5. Enjoyed a movienight on the couch with my husband by candlelight
  6. Made a  leisurely, healthy meal of whole wheat pasta, protein and fresh veggies for dinner
  7. Had a silly phone conversation with my brother
  8. Read books and “found” Waldo with my 5-year-old son
  9. Snuggled with my pet cockatiel, Comet
  10. Listened to my 10-year-old son practice his cymbals
  11. Breathed deeply
  12. Discussed some of my volunteer projects with my husband and made a decision about work load going forward
  13. Answered an email to my Ireland writing pal about our goals and summer plans.
  14. Laughed
  15. Watched a zillion episodes of iCarly with my boys
  16. Found a new FANTASTIC blog for happiness (come back tomorrow for more on this)

After all these things, I’m pumped to get back to work and excited about new prospects.

So, how did you play?

2 Comments

Filed under Advice, emotion, goals, Inspiration, Platform/Marketing, Rest, writers block

2 responses to “My Day of Play…

  1. 1. I too visited my local indie bookstore and had a silly phone conversation w/ my brother (my twin brother, to be exact — that’s actually a regular occurrance).

    2. Wrote 10 pages (longhand) of a story that was just for me — it will never see the light of day and I’m cool w/ that.

    3. Watched episodes of *Boston Legal*

    4. Ate a Snickers bar.

Leave a Reply

