Monday Muse


Have you ever left your house with all the good intentions of returning in twenty minutes? I’m not talking about running to the bank or returning a rental. I mean walking out and breathing the fresh air, intent on finding your muse.

I am an avid planner, to the point of it being a sickness. Some of you may wish for an organized mind or schedule, but it comes with a price. Overload. I take on too much; my brain spins in multiple directions; my tasks multiply with every “yes, and then…” new idea I have. The sounds and lights and people swirl around me like an out of control twister and I picture jumping feet first into a deep dark body of water to drown out the world, my mind.

Refresh. Just like the curly cue arrow at the top of our computer screen, I need to Refresh.

So, I left my house intent on finding inner peace, calm and, if lucky enough, my muse. Twenty minutes into my walk, my mind is still conjuring up upsetting conversations, impossible requests and the week ahead with all its tasks. So, I kept walking. Finally, breakthrough. Characters crept into my mind. Titles and words that excited me. Plot twists and thoughts of November and the thrill of writing a novel in a month (even if it’s just a mad dash to capture floating words and reach a word count goal.)

Then, I come back, somewhat refreshed, having walked in the twilight and inhaling the sweet summer air. But all these new ideas, this lassoed muse: what do I do with it? When can I use it? There are lunches to make, work clothes to iron, kids to tuck in and the day job to wake early for.

But then, I refresh my email and find a small answer: “The Five-Minute Writing Career.” Will I use my minutes to blog and surf, Twitter and respond? Or will I follow the real reason behind all the  busy work – – and Write?

4 Comments

Filed under Advice, Believe, emotion, Organization, Perseverance, Platform/Marketing, procrastination

4 responses to “Monday Muse

  1. Stephanie

    Ah, that busy mind, I know it well!! Good for you for staying out in search of your muse and not letting yourself get sucked back indoors and back to the craziness. I’m glad it was a productive walk!

    I love the Five-Minute Writing Career link, too. I, too, tend to think I need a chunk of hours to write. I haven’t mastered the skill of writing in the bathroom, but maybe someday…

  2. Loved this post — and I’ve so been there! Will keep it in mind when the semester starts.

Leave a Reply

