“There ain’t no free lunches in this country…”


“…And don’t go spending your whole life commiserating that you got the raw deals. You’ve got to say, ‘I think that if I keep working at this and want it bad enough I can have it.’ It’s called perseverance.”

Lee Iacocca, Businessman and Former CEO of Chrysler

Love this quote. I think we all have our moments of the “life’s unfair” attitude. But seriously, how would we know our true passions if we didn’t hit a bump or two (or ten) on our way to success?

Perseverance is the path that we must take to develop and live our true passion.

What struggles or speed bumps are hindering your writing goals today (this week, this month)?

I’ve been feeling a bit overwhelmed in my day job as an Executive Assistant to the Regional V.P. This drags me down, body and mind, for any creative work I had planned for the evening.

I’ve also been procrastinating tedious technical work I need to get done to move forward with my young writers’ summer studio plans for June. And I’ve been putting off a rewrite of an article that should have been finished by now.

Distractions in the form of Facebook, Twitter, Blog surfing & commenting keep me from moving towards my goals, as well. These social medias are excellent tools, when used correctly and in moderation, so as not to take up all of your “working” time.

Perseverance rounds her head again when I sit in my day job cubicle, or in traffic going to or from said job. I know I can’t get different results from doing the same thing. Perseverance is what will blast through those bumps of distraction, overwhelming feelings and procrastination. The innate desire to write and teach full time as a way of replacing my current income  – that big carrot dangling in front of my nose is what will get me through one more day, week or month. To success. To my goal.

But dreaming and wishing and musing is all a bunch of fluff if there is no action behind it.

I learned the other night that just by speaking about my goals of teaching and the local organizations and schools I plan to contact lit a fire under my ass. Talk about it!

I have decided to open my MS Word doc’s ONLY when rewriting or crafting a rough draft of an article. Email and the internet as a whole is too tempting for me if opened in a tab at my bottom toolbar. Set up blinders to focus and blast away distractions!

The technical issue I’m having that is holding back my next steps for my young writers studio is the time to figure out adding a Paypal button to my writelikeCRAZY blog for easier payment of tuitions.My husband, with his knowledge of all things techy, said to ask if I needed help. Well, I asked, I delegated. Get more info to get past the procrastination (or delegate a task you don’t want to do!)

Please share your bumps and how you’ll use perseverance to get over or around them!

2 Comments

Filed under Advice, emotion, goals, Organization, Perseverance, Platform/Marketing, procrastination, writers block

2 responses to ““There ain’t no free lunches in this country…”

  1. My bump is literally my bump! I’m about 37+ weeks pregnant, and the more my belly pushes me away from my writing desk the less I write productively. My mind is bracing itself for the huge lack of time I’ll have for writing once our baby arrives, so for some reason I don’t feel like working on my manuscripts as much. I journal on my blog every day, but that’s about it some days. I’m kicking myself that I’m not using these last few weeks more efficiently, but after running around after my toddler all day it’s hard to have the mental energy to write. At least my blog writing keeps my writing mind active for now!

    • Congratulations, Kimberly! You already have a full schedule just preparing for your new arrival, not mention parenting a toddler. Kudos on keeping up with your blog. If journaling of any type is all you have energy for now, that is wonderful! It will be much fodder for articles, essays and fiction ideas later. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

