“Imagination grows by exercise


“…and contrary to common belief, is more powerful in the mature than in the young.”

Paul McCartney
Singer/Songwriter

 

Well, if a Beatle thinks this is true, it must be, right?

 

I tell ya, some days I feel that all the imagination and creativity in me has packed up and moved on. On these days, I seek out the unusual, the unique.

 

Being a mom fills that well of imagination just by observing my boys.

My 5-year-old, Sam, has a knack for art. He will use pencil sharpenings in a collage of paint, pastel chalks and colored pencils.

My 10-yer-old, David, has this amazingly inquisitive mind that is always making me second-guess my bank of knowledge.

I think I’m going to begin yet another list. This will be a list of questions my kids ask me or ones I ask them…

 

Another method I’ve been using to awaken my hibernating imagination is reading poetry. I’ll admit, some phrases or even couplets leave me confused and feeling “less than” because I just don’t get it. But the lyrical way the words weave images and emotions into one cozy quilt has me thinking beyond my familiar world.

 

Art in many forms can tickle my creative nerve, as well. My mother-in-law recently gave us an adorable large poster of a crow walking in a field, wearing boots and chewing on a piece of straw. Now framed and hanging in my kitchen , Joe The Crow has prompted many stories from our family: I think he’s walking cause he’s too cool to fly and wants to be a regular Joe just moseying through a field; my husband thinks the crow is walking to spite the scarecrow; my older son thinks he is the scarecrow in disguise and my younger son just thinks Joe the Crow is just silly. One picture. Many views. Numerous story ideas.

 

How do foster imagination in everyday life?

2 Comments

Filed under Creative Essays, Education, emotion, Inspiration, Rest, writers, writing inspiration

2 responses to ““Imagination grows by exercise

  1. Somehow fostering my toddler’s imagination helps to foster mine. It really doesn’t take much to activate my daughter’s imagination, but I try to constantly have things to explore, do, or use at her fingertips (e.g., paints, books, a camera, toys, water activities, foods to examine with the senses, etc). Seeing how she investigates and what she does with something helps me to look at the every day objects in my life with a fresh, new perspective, which fuels my imagination.

Leave a Reply

