Second wind


“Most people never run far enough on their first wind to find out if they’ve got a second. Give your dreams all you’ve got and you’ll be amazed at the energy that comes out of you.”

William James  1842-1910, Author

This quote touches down for me, particularly today. When I’m doubting myself. My capabilities.  My ambitions. My reality.

I’m writing up a “Save the Date” memo for the summer writing studio I’m planning for my young writing students. As with most of my lesson plans and correspondence, I have my 10-yr-old son proofread it before it goes out.

“What would get you really excited about signing up for this studio?” I ask him.

So he gives me his feedback: more of this writing exercise, less of that. He gives me ideas from his classroom projects and tells me what was boring or confusing in past workshops I’ve taught. Ouch!

“I’m not saying this to hurt your feelings, Mom,” he says. He’s honest. Brutally honest, but with a touch of compassion.

I coax more feedback from him.  After all, this whole young writers’ group was his creation.  It is extremely helpful, however it may sting.

But when all is said and done, my overactive critical Scorpio mind begins to put up protective walls and tear down my “never give up!” attitude.

So, I go to my husband, who is more realistic and grounded than I am.

“Mar, are you kidding? Look at all you’ve done. You were panicked about the Saturday classes, then your keynote speech and they always work out. You always do a great job! You have students emailing their stories to you for your opinion.” He hugs me. I feel a bit more relieved.

I decide to unplug, no more emails, blog, calendars or to-do lists for tonight. We watch Mr & Mrs Smith on cable.

Now, I’m trying to figure out how to cram 2 hours of hard core aerobics into my day to get my body even close to looking like Angelina Jolie’s.

*sigh* It never ends…  mm-smith

4 Comments

Filed under Believe, emotion, Perseverance, Rest

4 responses to “Second wind

  1. And when you have THAT whole Angelina thing figured out, call me please!!!

    But on the doubt issues, I feel you there. My daughter too can be brutally honest. She means well. All I can say is you owe it to yourself and those who look to you, to keep pressing on. Kick that Scorpio spirit into high gear and kick some butt!! Lots of great Scorpion champions out there:)

  2. Hi MaryJo,
    I just wanted to say that I am so inspired by how much you do and have done! In fact, whenever I need a little encouragement or a reminder that I CAN succeed as a writer and a parent, I come back to your blog for some pearls of wisdom. So don’t be too hard on yourself. 🙂 And thanks!

    • Sarah, that is so sweet. You made my day! It’s good to know I’m reaching others out there in bloggyland and *blush* being inspiring and encouraging.
      I love your blog, too BTW. Very conversational and real.

Leave a Reply

