April: National Poetry Month


npm_logo_2008_final  April is National Poetry Month and I believe I will challenge myself silly by trying to write a short poem a day. I cannot promise that I’ll be sharing my creations here, but maybe with enough coaxing, you can convince me.

Poetry is that form that puts fear in my heart and makes my fingers fumble on the keyboard. But, I forget that poetry was what started this passion for writing back in the 3rd grade. Sister Mary Donald was vigilant in her quest to have every 9-year-old become the next Yeats, Frost or at least Seuss.

Well, I’ve challenged my 10-yer-old son to write me a poem today while home on Spring Break and promised I’d do the same for him. Hmm?  Anyone have a meter they can spare?

If you’re up for the challenge:

More details can be found at http://blog.writersdigest.com/poeticasides/

The Poem-A-Day Challenge. April 1st through 30th at Poetic Asides.

Leave a comment

Filed under Believe, contests, Fun Stuff, goals, procrastination, writers

Leave a Reply

