“People think I’m disciplined. It is not discipline. It is devotion. There is a great difference.”


“People think I’m disciplined. It is not discipline. It is devotion. There is a great difference.”

Luciano Pavarotti ~ 1935-2007, Opera Singer

But when does “devotion” cross over to “obsession?”

I hear many people, moms especially, ask: How do you work full-time, and still teach young writers, write your own articles, work on a novel and volunteer for an international organization (CCYW)? All while being a mom and a wife? I just shrug and say “I’m organized and I prioritize.”

But a recent “discussion” led me to believe I’m not prioritizing as well as I thought.

I’m an over-achiever, it just runs in my veins. I LOVE lists, no matter if they dictate my life and time and relationships. I find comfort in being busy. But being busy all the time means some other parts of my life will falter, right? It’s only natural.

Why couldn’t I see this? Or could I and just chose to shuffle it away until my current project at hand was completed? (I also LOVE those thick red cross-off lines through my tasks!)

My screen time has taken precedence over my life, I see this. Whether I’m blogging, researching, writing or replying (to emails) I’m not present in my life. I do have goals, but need to pull the reins in on the number of projects I commit to. 

Going full speed ahead, I forget sometimes the commitment I made 12 years ago, to myself and my family.  I get caught up in this new venture and my brain sizzles with all the avenues I can take (this interview would link me to this project; this contest would be perfect for that draft I wrote months ago; this student would benefit from that article, and on and on.)

So, my new goal (going to the top of my to-do list) is to S-L-O-W down, feel the hugs of my family, look in their eyes when they tell me about their day and save plenty of after dinner time for couch cuddling!

2 Comments

Filed under Advice, emotion, goals, Rest

2 responses to ““People think I’m disciplined. It is not discipline. It is devotion. There is a great difference.”

  1. I really like your blog. Can relate in many ways. Please keep writing.

Leave a Reply

