Heavy Heart


I was all set to post a  great quote and follow-up on pessimism today, but I’m not feeling it.

When you walk around with a positive attitude, hell-bent on being everyone’s cheerleader, including your own, the energy sometimes wanes.  Especially when your hit with a blow.

Someone close to me is ill.

After losing a breast to cancer, she was just told there are numerous tumors in her brain. To operate or not, is the question she and her family are struggling with this very moment. How do I go about my day with feeble decisions to make: will I finish my article for Writing Kid? When will I decide the dates of my young writers summer studio?

Seriously, I need to make the decision of where to go to come apart. As women, we are the pillars of strength for those who are weak. The open arms, the strong shoulders, the voice of reasoning. Where do we go when we need to cry? A locked bathroom, closet floor, parked car? Our blog?

I do know that writing about it makes it better. Somehow.

What is pressing heavily on your heart today? Write about it. Hopefully, you’ll reread the pasage in the future and feel lighter.

9 Comments

Filed under emotion, Perseverance, Rest

9 responses to “Heavy Heart

  1. I’m so sorry to read this. Prayers for your friend, and for you as well. Her struggle makes everything else seem a tad trivial in comparison.
    Yes, there is certainly healing in writing I’ve found.

  2. Mary Jo, I’m so sorry that someone you care about is ill. I don’t know where to tell you to go to “fall apart,” but do allow yourself to grieve for your loved one’s pain. Writing about it is definitely a good strategy, as is leaning on those who love YOU. Take care of yourself.

  3. Go wherever you need to go. And come apart.

    You’re right, writing does make the grief more real but you also need to allow yourself to feel and feel deeply.

    I’m so sorry to hear about this, Mary Jo. None of us have the answers but we do have common experience. You’re in my thoughts.

  4. My thoughts are with you, Mary Jo. Yes, as women and mothers we do hold a lot of people up. And, I’ve been learning recently that it’s okay for me to be held up as well – be sure to rely on those around you for the support that you need, too. Take care.

  5. Elise D.

    Oh, Mary Jo. So sorry to read about your friend. I find that writing (or typing) often helps the tears come. Wow. I’ll be thinking about you and your friend and family…

Leave a Reply

