“I know the world is filled with troubles and many injustices…”


“…But reality is as beautiful as it is ugly. I think it is just as important to sing about beautiful mornings as it is to talk about slums. I just couldn’t write anything without hope in it.” ~ Oscar Hammerstein II

old-woman-in-sadness-thumb8210807(photo courtesy of dreamstime.com)

So, the financial crisis is affecting us all in one way or another. Maybe someone in your household or your neighborhood lost their job recently. My own retired parents are watching their life savings dwindle away with each stock market dip (or should I say “plunge”?)  Kids are too plugged in to TV, YouTube, Wii, Ipod, cell phones.  We adults are getting more out of shape each week.  Doom & Gloom, Doom & Gloom swirls all around us.

Use this material! You’re living it now. Write about it. Describe the gut wrenching feeling of opening another Final Notice bill, the guilt of going through the drive-thru for dinner again, the exhaustion that takes over preventing you from talking to your teenager who zones out on Facebook chatting about God knows what.

I went through a whole college phase of writing about hookers, runaways, drunk fathers, dirty city streets and wintry weather elements.  Of course I did not actually experience these things, but they were around my environment where I was attending school.  I used my writer’s eye and ear to gain details and fleshed out characters for fiction.  It must have been my age or writing experimentation, but the stories never ended “happily ever after.” However, now I like to take the tragic and infuse some hope.

What can you use from the bad to make good? Rewrite your current state of life and give yourself a happy ending!


2 Comments

Filed under Believe, Creative Essays, emotion, Inspiration, Perseverance

2 responses to ““I know the world is filled with troubles and many injustices…”

  1. Sorry to hear about your parents savings. That’s got to be tough.

    Good advice. My happy ending is being published and seeing my writing buddies get published.

    And a big dessert cart with lots of goodies to choose from, 🙂

Leave a Reply

