Janice Lynne Lundy: Blog Tour


janlundyhead5x7-copy

Author of Your Truest Self: Embracing the Woman You Are Meant to Be

Janice Lynne Lundy is an inspirational speaker, interfaith spiritual director, syndicated magazine columnist, and the author of four self-help/spiritual growth books for women.

Her newest book, Your Truest Self: Embracing the Woman You Are Meant to Be, has just been released by Sorin Books. your-truest-self-cover

Within every woman there is an essential Truth waiting to be claimed, a Truth that will empower her to claim a spiritual life that is real and authentic, one that will nourish and sustain her every day. Janice Lynne Lundy thoughtfully guides readers toward finding that essential truth for themselves. Drawing from her personal encounters with twelve spiritual mentors—Frances Moore Lappé, Daphne Rose Kingma, Iyanla Vanzant, Naomi Judd, and more—she has created twelve Transformational Truths to guide and enable women to live more peaceful, confident, and open-hearted lives.

 

Jan is the author of three previously published personal and spiritual growth books: Coming Home to Ourselves: A Woman’s Journey to Wholeness; Awakening the Spirit Within; and Perfect Love: How to Find Yours and Make It Last Forever (co-authored with her husband, Brad Lundy).

 

The mother of three, stepmother of four, and grandmother of three more, Jan resides on the peaceful shoreline of Grand Traverse Bay in northern Michigan with her husband, Brad, her creative partner and soul’s companion.

 

Learn more about Jan at her website: www.awakenedliving.com.

Register for her newsletter and she’ll send you her new, inspirational 90-page e-book, The Awakened Woman’s Guide to Life. Visit her blog: www.awakeisgood.blogspot.com. She enjoys hearing from her readers and responds personally. Email: jan@awakenedliving.com.

Interview by Mary Jo Campbell:

(Jan will be replying to your comments and questions all day today, so ask away!)

Jan, thank you for stopping by Writers Inspired on your blog tour to discuss the writing process of and the message conveyed in your newest book, Your Truest Self: Embracing the Woman You Were Meant to Be.

 

MJC: Writers are often told to “tell the truth” in their writing. How important is it that we find our “Truest Self” in order to make our writing shine?

Jan: Very important! The best writers I know are living as their truest selves, or in the process of “remembering” how to do so. The mentors featured in my book, most of whom are authors themselves, are shining examples of this. As they have become more peaceful and centered, joyous, grateful, and connected to their spirit, their careers have taken off.

I have a 3-part process I’d like to share that can help any of us arrive at this place of empowerment.

First, we must be able to access inner calm. Without it, we’ll remain a jumble of unorganized thoughts and feelings, a bundle of nerves, a mere shadow of our truest self. We may also feel a profound lack of confidence, even fear, about our ability to express ourselves. Spiritual practices help. Chapter Four of my book, “I Engage in Daily Practices that Nurture My Spirit,” explores how to uncover and implement our unique spiritual practices for experiencing greater calm.

Second, once we have begun to access more peace peace, clarity will come. We feel clear, open-minded, and possibilities bound! Our thoughts are lucid, focused; our intuition is on alert. Obviously, this is an ideal place from which to write.

Finally, with clarity comes wisdom. Wisdom is the root of all great endeavors. Wisdom allows us to make optimum choices and operate in the world in beneficial ways. A wise woman is one who displays the “virtues” of Spirit itself: generosity, confidence, joy, and compassion. Now that’s living as your truest self!

MJC: Many writers, myself included, want to back into a hole and lick our wounds when those rejection letters come in. What steps can give us to regain our self-confidence and find the courage to forge ahead?

Jan: On occasion, I still fall prey to this one myself. A lackluster review on amazon.com can send me tumbling into despair. Most writers are sensitive sorts; I know I am. On the other hand, if we didn’t feel so darn much we wouldn’t be insightful writers!

Rejection is difficult. Early on, I experienced much rejection from agents and publishers with this book. But we cannot give up; I didn’t. If we believe in our message, are faithful to honing our craft, and willing to work with constructive criticism, experiences of rejection can actually build self-confidence.

We learn courage, I believe, through patterning ourselves after bold others. Activist Frances Moore Lappé was one of those for me. She helped me formulate the message in Chapter Eleven, “I Courageously Live and Speak My Truths.” Frankie reminded me that people who appear to be fearless have actually been intimate with fear. Facing our fears and walking through them is key to living as our truest selves.

We must also remember that fear is a trait of the ego (our false self). It is not a reflection of our true nature, which is love and peace. We can begin to make conscious choices to move away from the disempowering messages of the ego and re-align ourselves with those of our spirit, and the greater Spirit (that some call God). My book offers an interfaith roadmap for doing just that.

MJC: Do you believe that all women can tap into their “Truest Self?” Or are there some who are buried too deep in toxic thoughts and actions?

Jan: Yes, I believe all women can tap into their truest self. Our truest self is not a version of ourselves for which we must seek; it is who we are by birth and destiny. We all have an innate core—an essence—which is characterized by peace, love, joy, and other qualities of Spirit. This is our truest self. We simply need to uncover her and bring her into the light of day.

Doing so, however, is a matter of readiness. It is true that some women may be too buried in toxicity to perceive the glory of their own being. But their “stuckness” may be temporary. There is an ancient Taoist saying, “When the student is ready, the teacher will appear.” Any growth we may experience in life depends on readiness—our willingness to grow and change. Until we are ready, we’ll likely remain mired in old patterns, thoughts, and behaviors that do not serve our truest self.

A statement by diarist Anais Nin rings true here: “And the day came when the risk to remain tight in a bud was greater than the risk it took to blossom.” Profound statement, isn’t it? (I mentioned later to Jan, that this very quote is my tag-line for Writers Inspired!)

MJC: Time seems to always be in demand, especially for busy mom writers. How can we encourage our families and significant others to give us the time and space we need (without the guilt trip)?

Jan: I adhere to the maxim that we teach others how to treat us. As we begin the journey of valuing ourselves—especially our creative selves—we’ll need to educate (or re-train) others to do the same.

We begin with baby steps. We get clear about what it is that we need to do to honor our creativity. I love how author/photographer Jan Phillips explained this in Marry Your Muse. Jan is one of the twelve “Holy Women” featured in my book. The “Artist’s Creed,” which is the foundation of her book, states (in part), “I believe I am worth the time it takes to create whatever I feel called to create.”

Upon reading those words, I finally believed all my efforts were worth it, and once that happened, I could ask for my family’s assistance. I was very clear with them about what I needed—time, space, support. I began by taking one hour in the evening just for ME. This increased over time as my children became of school age and were more self-sufficient.

Letting go of guilt is key to embodying our truest self. It’s important to remember that our needs are just as important as those of any other family member. In fact, our temperament—our health and well-being— may determine the well-being of our entire family. Remember the old adage, “If momma ain’t happy, nobody’s happy”? It’s true!

MJC: You mentioned in a previous interview that you self-published three of your books. Can you tell us how getting “Your Truest Self” purchased by a publisher differed from self-publishing?

Jan: First let me say that self-publishing has been an enjoyable experience. I highly recommend it if someone has the means (time and finances) to do so. Self-publishing prepared me well for working with a publisher. Especially when it came to marketing. The creation and marketing of a self-published book is a full-time job, a challenge for many writers who simply want to write—not design or sell!

In today’s challenging market, most publishing houses expect their authors to do most of the marketing work anyway. The publisher will do the initial work of launching the book, but getting it noticed and sold to the public is primarily the author’s job.

There are trade-offs with being published. An issue for some writers is loss of control of the book’s content, format, cover, and layout. Ideally, a team approach is used in publishing and the author’s input is respected. In my case, I appreciated the vision Sorin Books held for my project. It matched my own and we worked well together. It was wonderful having an editor who edited gently. The design team created a lovely product (inside and out) and, for the most part, was receptive to my input. (Though you do get only so many cover choices!) This is not the case for many authors, so I feel fortunate that my experience has been a good one.

Of course, having a publisher purchase your work is a thrill, a powerful affirmation of your course in life. The day I was finally able to hold a copy of Your Truest Self in my hand was one of the proudest moments of my life.

May publishing success be yours, as well!

MJC: This is absolutely wonderful!  Your answers are so passionate and in-depth. I can’t wait to see all the comments they stir up!  REMEMBER:  One lucky random winner will receive a copy of Jan Lundy’s latest book Your Truest Self.  BUT, you have to comment here today to win!

more on Jan…

Described by her readers, audiences, and colleagues as “practical and poetic, possessing deep and gentle wisdom,” Janice Lynne Lundy serves as an interfaith spiritual guide to tens of thousands of women throughout the United States through her nationally syndicated magazine column in Women’s LifeStyle, as a professional speaker and retreat facilitator, and as a Spiritual Director. She has been recognized for her sensitive and compelling interviews as well as for her gift for connecting with soul-searching women. Jan is an adjunct staff member for the Institute of Spirituality at the Dominican Center in Grand Rapids, Michigan.

 


24 Comments

Filed under Author Interviews, books, emotion, Give Aways, Inspiration

24 responses to “Janice Lynne Lundy: Blog Tour

  1. Jodi

    Mary Jo and Jan,

    Great interview! I’m familiar with Jan’s book but never really thought about how it related to my life as a writer.

  2. Thanks for sharing your thoughts, Jan. And, thanks for introducing me to another great resource, Mary Jo!

  3. Thank you, Jan and Mary Jo, for this interview! I have been really struggling as a writer with getting others to value what I’m trying to do…and I appreciate what Jan said about valuing your creativity enough to take the time to write and teach others that it is sacred time. Thank you!!

  4. jan

    Good morning, all!
    I am so happy to be here with you today, talking about our lives, writing, and whatever else is on our hearts. 🙂 Thanks for a beautiful post, Mary Jo. Such a lovely, informative, and supportive site.

    Jodi, so great you made this connection. For me, the writing life has been my doorway to personal & spiritual growth. Writing, I believe, is a powerful path to transformation. A bold and sometimes risky one, mind you, but well worth the effort.

    Liz….Hi! Glad the interview spoke to you. 🙂

    So, everyone, what else is on your heart today?

    All Love,
    J

  5. jan

    Stephanie,
    Nice to hear from you and that my words may have helped. Of course, I’d love it if you read my book to gain more insight into that issue (esp. Chapter Five, “I Cultivate Compassion for Myself) and use the practical strategies offered there.

    But I do love Jan Phillip’s book, Marry Your Muse. I think every women writer should read it! Here’s a few more tidbits from “The Artist’s Creed.”

    “I believe that the time I spend creating my art is as precious as the time I spend giving to others.”

    It’s so true! This is where befriending ourselves comes in–and demonstrating lovingkinddess to ourselves. To be as loving to ourselves as we are to others. Oh, yes….

    Blessings to you!

    • “I believe that the time I spend creating my art is as precious as the time I spend giving to others.”

      Jan, that should be our CREED! I know for myself, if I put so many “things” and “people” before my writing or creativity, I am cranky and sullen. No matter how exhausted I am (mentally or physically) if I find a bit of time to write, I’m refreshed and ready to give to others again, happily.

  6. jan

    This is so true, Mary Jo. It’s amazing how what some might consider “work,” is restorative—even healing—to those of us who write. I’ve believed for a very long time now (mostly from personal experience) that as we put pen to paper we are literally healing ourselves; giving voice to all that is unsaid within us. It can release pent-up emotional toxicity. Even improve our physical health. I wrote once (in my first book, I believe), “What cannot be expressed, cannot be healed.”

    And as you say, writing or artistic expression of some sort, frees up our gremlins and sends them on their merry way! I get quite cranky too when I am away from my writing tools for too long. 🙂

  7. Elise

    Jan and Mary Jo,

    What a wonderful and insightful interview. It is all about taking charge of your own life, isn’t it? So great to read about different ways to do just that. Even having “taken my life into my own hands” a few years ago, it is good to remind myself to continue to do so. We are all important here on this earth. Make it count! “This is your life, are you who you want to be?” ( a quote from a popular song that still resonates with me years later)

    Thanks for the introduction to a new mentor and author, Mary Jo. And Jan, can’t wait to read your latest book. Much luck to you both!

  8. jan

    Hi Elise,
    Yes, it is all about taking charge of our lives, though I will add it is not about “seeking” empowerment. So many of us keep searching outside ourselves for these things. It is about dropping down into the truest part of us—our essence—our sacred and divinely-sourced nature where confidence, inner peace, courage, and joy innately reside. Hopefully, my book helps women do just that. It is a lifelong journey to embody our truest selves, so my deepest hope is that we will be gentle with ourselves as we journey into greater wakefulness—together!
    Blessings to you this day…

    • Jan: You make an important point about not “seeking” empowerment from outside sources. I am very prone to that, almost where I become a chameleon of the people around me. Do you think it’s maybe a lack of self-knowledge or even self esteem that we (women) tend to disregard our “truest self” and try to justify why and how we should live from others?

  9. jan

    Mary Jo,
    Wonderful question. Yes, I think it is. It starts with us when we are young girls, I believe, wanting to be assured of our parents’ love. We begin to please, mold, adapt ourselves to others to win their attention and favor. This increases when we go to to school (pleasing our teachers). In time, it can turn into co-dependent behavior in all of our relationships (esp. our marital partners).

    Your description of being like a chameleon is perfect, always adapting to the needs and opinions of others to be liked…. The need to please is what Oprah calls it.

    The journey to embodying our truest self is about learning to trust our own wisdom, detach from the approval of others, celebrate our own worth, and more. It is the journey of a lifetime! At 55, I am still finding my way and noticing my own tendencies to engage in this way on occasion. When I discover that I am being a bit co-dependent, I try to engage with myself tenderly. No beating myself up. I take a breath, let go, and move on. I am a work in progress, as are we all.

    Chapter Eleven in my book helps: “I Courageously Live and Speak My Truths,” always a challenging one for women!

    • Jan,
      Well, again I can see myself in your answer. I’m an ACOA (Adult Child of an Alcoholic) so I’m quite familiar with the people pleasing/approval seeking style. An ACOA group helped me immensely in my own recovery, as did a personal 12 step workbook. I was able to dig up and purge things I wasn’t even aware I had been carrying around for years. Such a weight lifted. I can now see more clearly my reactions to situations and be honest on whether they’re justifiable, or just “baggage behavior” I can’t wait to read your book! And, I’m going to borrow your quote “I am a work in progress.”

  10. jan

    All these awarenesses and insights help. I am glad that you are well on your way to living as your truest self, Mary Jo. The key is being gentle to ourselves, all along the way!

  11. Thanks so much Mary Jo and Jan for a very insightful, and encouraging interview! I love the whole part about letting go of the guilt, honoring my needs as well as my families.
    Jan, is there ever a point where one goes, “ahh, I’ve arrived.” Feels like I’ve been on the journey for quite sometime now, and I’d like to think I’m closer!
    Thanks again, and looking forward to reading the book sometime.

  12. jan

    Hi Luci,
    Great question. I think there does come a day when we realize we are making progress. Arrived? I don’t think so, not as long as we are in human form with our ego personalities running the roost! It’s not about perfection either. It’s about learning to live more kindly and compassionately with ourselves—as we are, as as grow.

    You probably are closer and that is a wonderful thing! I know I am closer than I have ever been, but, there will always be room for progress.

    Amazon has a pretty good price on the book, and some used copies, when and if your budget allows. Or maybe you’ll win the copy that Mary Jo has for the drawing. Good luck to you! And blessings!

  13. Michelle

    Hi Mary Jo and Jan,
    Thanks for conducting this interview, Mary Jo. Jan, you provide so many thoughtful insights! I think my primary struggle is with the first part of your three-part process – accessing inner calm. I find myself saying “OK, tomorrow morning I’m going to get up ten minutes earlier and just sit quietly before the rest of the house starts bustling.” But I find I don’t always remember to do that (even the next morning) nor can I stick to the plan to do it each day. Any suggestions?

  14. Michelle

    Oh, p.s. I’m a west-coaster, so I’m up a bit later than the rest of you, sorry!

  15. Thank you for this thought-provoking interview.

  16. Thank you for this though-provoking interview. What jumped out at me is the idea of finding inner calm. Until you mentioned it, I’m not sure if I realized that that is exactly what’s missinng from my writing routine. I write at night, after my children are asleep, and it’s so hard to quiet my mind and clear the clutter in order to focus. And, when I’m so exhausted, how do I find that place of inner calm witout putting myself to sleep? Between the caffiene and the leftover craziness of the day, how do I find that place of clarity? That’s what your interview has me thinking about…

    • Jennifer,
      I can sympathize. I also do my writing when my boys are bunked down for the night and turning off the “mommy” brain to write is difficult. What helps me is keeping lists. I write down at least 3 things each day that I would be satisified with if completed. It helps me to have a jumping off point and focus my thoughts. We all work in different waves. The nights I’m too exhausted to be creative with my writing, I will instead research markets or write blog posts to schedule for later in the week. I’ve also learned to let my husband know how important my writing is and when I have a deadline, I “schedule” writing time on the family calendar so everyone is aware I must not be disturbed. Then I can write when my energy levels are high. Jan’s book most likely has more tips!

Leave a Reply

