An Ode to NaNoWriMo Mamas!


An ode to the NaNoWriMo Mamas:
Sleepless nights, we’ve been there
Tantrum toddlers, we don’t fear
Take out dinners, gulping caffeine
Give me a second while I finish this scene!

Untucked child whining from bed;

Unruly characters refuse to be led

We panic, we cry, we procrastinate

Feeling a bit sick from the junk food we ate

Family support, cheering friends

Blast us through fears, give strength to the end

50K words not as tough as it sounds

A NaNo Mama leaps it in one single bound!

(Yeah, right!)

Congratulations to ALL NaNoWriMo participants, winners or not! We are novelists!

4 Comments

Filed under emotion, Fiction, NaNoWriMo, Novels, Uncategorized

4 responses to “An Ode to NaNoWriMo Mamas!

  1. worldcanwait

    I’m a stay at home mom of a toddler, so I can totally identify with that. I also did NaNoWriMo (my first time) but came nowhere near the goal. I found it hard to find the time to write without ignoring my little one, and naptime is just too short. I plan to keep writing though, because I’ve always wanted to be a novelist.

  2. Oh I feel for you! I was a stay-at-home mom, too, once upon a time, so I know where you’re coming from.
    The positive thing to focus on, is that you did write and have plans to keep at at! Never giving up is the only way to go from wishing to “doing!”
    Thanks for stopping by!

  3. And you’re a poet to boot? Sheesh, Mary Jo- you rock!!! “give me a second to finish this scene…” loved that one!

  4. LOL! I would definitely not call myself a poet – but thanks! And congrats on your NaNo accomplishments. Has the revising begun yet?

Leave a Reply

