How do you define “novel”?


Why 50,000 words? And how do you define “novel”?

Our experiences over the past nine years show that 50,000 is a difficult but doable goal, even for people with full-time jobs and children. The length makes it a short novel. We don’t use the word “novella” because it doesn’t seem to impress people the way “novel” does.

We define a novel as “a lengthy work of fiction.” Beyond that, we let you decide whether what you’re writing falls under the heading of “novel.” In short: If you believe you’re writing a novel, we believe you’re writing a novel too.

Every say “I’ll write a book some day.?” TODAY IS THAT DAY! Sign up at

http://www.nanowrimo.org/

2 Comments

Filed under Believe, Inspiration, Novels

2 responses to “How do you define “novel”?

  1. So…are you doing it this year? I just stumbled on your blog after doing random google searches on Nanowrimo.

    Still thinking about it…

  2. Glad you found your way here! And, yes, I am participating this year. Just crunched the numbers and realized that to reach 50,000 in the only days I can guarantee time to write (26 out of 30), I will be typing like mad to reach about 2,000 words a day! Yikes! What did I get myself into? I hope to blog the experience here, or at least some tangent ramblings…

    Are you with me?

Leave a Reply

