“Sometimes when you think you are done, it is just the edge of beginning…”


“…Probably that’s why we decide we’re done. It’s getting too scary. We are touching down onto something real. It is beyond the point when you think you are done that often something strong
comes out.~ Natalie Goldberg

I think the first writing book I ever bought was Natalie Goldberg‘s Writing Down the Bones. A friend and co-worker named Kat let me borrow her copy. She was this hip graphic designer working in the same small ad agency as me and she believed in my writing, we were artistic kindred spirits.

We’ve since moved on, but the book remains a close companion. Don’t most books?

I especially love this quote (actually have it pinned to my cork board above my desk.) When I think I am finished with a piece, when I can’t bear to reread the same paragraph once more, I look to Natalie’s words and try to dig a little deeper. What am I not saying? What am I hiding? What am I afraid of? Find that fire in the belly and let her roar!

In non-fiction articles, I don’t have this problem. But I’m broaching the arena of creative essays and let me tell ya, I’ve got some issues. Plenty of issues to deal with and write about.

Tell me I’m not alone in this! (Please?)

2 Comments

Filed under Advice, Believe, Creative Essays, emotion, Inspiration, writing inspiration

2 responses to ““Sometimes when you think you are done, it is just the edge of beginning…”

  1. You’re so not alone! Wonderful quote, btw. One of my favorite authors is Virginia Woolfe, her whole stream of consciousness writing. It’s like she didn’t think twice about how it would come out, she just let it out. I don’t know if that helps, but when we try to hard to think about it, it impedes the creativity. When you say issues, do you mean ‘writer’s block’? When I get that, I usually take a little break, let is simmer in my brain, then I’m ready to write again. Hang in there!

  2. writethejourney

    Ha! That’s just how I was going to start–you are so not alone. You are right to have it pinned to your corkboard. Keep going–keep digging!

Leave a Reply

