“You cannot change anything in your life with intention alone, which can become a watered-down, occasional hope that you’ll get to tomorrow. Intention without action is useless.” ~ Caroline Myss, Author of Entering The Castle


It’s one thing to be a dreamer. It’s another to be a “doer!” Which are you?

I have a few people in my life, whom I love dearly, however, their “dream state” and “reality” clash on many levels. One may say,”Yeah, I could find a good girlfriend if only I had a better job and money to take her out.” OK, so instead of sleeping until noon, get out and apply for better jobs. While you’re at it, don’t be late for your current part-time gig. And, you may want to stop approaching girls you know to be in a serious relationship.

Same with writing. Don’t say, “I want to be published, but I’m too scared to submit my work.” Hello? The byline fairy isn’t going to knock on your door and request your stories. You have to have more than intention alone. You need action. You need to commit these intentions to a deadline. Keep a list of what you truly want to accomplish and by when. Then break it down to small doable tasks. Crossing each task off will bring you closer to that goal and closer to that dream.

In the meantime, “Stop Whining!” (When I was giving birth to my first son, the labor & delivery nurse wore a pin with this statement. I agree, totally inappropriate for her line of work, and at that time, had I more energy I would have plucked her eyes with that pin. But, it is actually a statement I’ve come to live by.) Try saying it to yourself when you’re falling into a pity party. Or when the “if only” statements stop you from “doing.” Keep moving forward, be active in your intentions.

So, what is your intention? How are you going to get there from here?

3 Comments

Filed under Advice, Believe, emotion, Inspiration, Perseverance, procrastination, writing inspiration

3 responses to ““You cannot change anything in your life with intention alone, which can become a watered-down, occasional hope that you’ll get to tomorrow. Intention without action is useless.” ~ Caroline Myss, Author of Entering The Castle

  1. Jennifer

    Thanks, Mary Jo! I’m going to go get started on revising my blog entry into an essay instead of putting it off again.

  2. You’re one step closer…
    Good luck!

  3. Pingback: The Danger of Setting Big Goals - PickTheBrain | Motivation and Self Improvement

Leave a Reply

