Rah! Rah! Rah!


Do you have a cheerleader in your corner? I don’t mean pigtails and pom-poms. I mean a partner, a confidante, a Pollyanna.

Who do you call when that rejection email comes through? Is there one or a group of writers or friend who understands the “minds” of writers that you can call on for a pick me up? Or to listen to yet another draft of your article?

I have a few cheerleaders – each for different aspects of my writing and life. My husband of course is always the one to bring me back to reality when I go all melodramatic.

My library writers group is real in their critiques of my fiction and my recently created “mama” group meets via a blog forum to hash out goals, deadlines and babysitter woes.

If you don’t have a cheerleader – Get One! Try your local bookstore(s) or libraries for writers groups; search out college classes or Yahoo! Groups to join. Trust will build. Stick with it and reap the rewards. Be sure to return the favor by being that shoulder when some other writer needs it.

Leave a comment

Filed under Advice, Inspiration, writing inspiration

Leave a Reply

