My Favorite Time of Year!


“I love the beginning of school!” I mused to my 9-year-old. “Yeah, I know you do!” he answered with a smirk.

No, really. I always loved going back to school. (Not just sending my kids back.) The cooler air, the smell of chalk dust, the squeaky sound of sneakers on floors in the hall, new challenges, new chances.

It’s like a New Year’s celebration for me. My goals start at the start of the school year, not on January 1. The kids’ anticipation is contagious!

First project on my agenda: first day letters to my boys. Since David started preschool, I’ve written him a letter the night before school started, just to tell him what I admired about him, what he could expect in the upcoming year, how proud I am of him. I will continue this tradition and hopefully collect all letters together in a scrapbook one day. One school year at a time.

Month Challenge: Um, nothing to report, I took the long weekend off!! : )

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

