Ready to write?


How do you prepare your mind and your muse to write? Do you have a routine? A certain nook in your home or maybe a booth at the coffee shop? Do you hand write first or go straight to the keyboard? Do you have a schedule and deadlines or whenever the page is calling?

For me, I hand write my fiction in cheap spiral notebooks (back-to-school sales are a great time to stock up!) and I type my nonfiction; maybe because I’m toggling between my word doc and the internet for facts and names. Either way, I have created a safe haven: at my dark wood writer’s desk in the niche under the window in my bedroom. The courtyard spreads in front of me, a sweet summer breeze blows in through the screen and my two rambunctious sons pop in every twenty seconds. “Mom, can I go on the computer?” “Mommy, can you pour me something to drink?” “David hit me!” “Sam erased my saved Zelda game!”

I may never have that perfect place, time or desire to write. But something in my blood calls to me: Go in your “happy place,” turn on the white noise in your mind and write with stopping.

2 Comments

Filed under Writing Space

2 responses to “Ready to write?

  1. Rebecca

    Hi there,
    I stumbled upon your site today via a link from Mari’s CreateWriteNow site and I’m really glad I did. I had a wee look through some posts that fell under the ‘writer’s block’ and ‘writing prompts’ headers, but decided that I should really go back to the very beginning and read all of your posts in proper sequential order, because I like the way you write: like you’re sat down on the sofa, cup of coffee in hand, imparting your own knowledge of the writing life to an old friend. It’s very accessible and I’m looking forward to spending a few hours this Easter weekend, procrastinating like there’s no tomorrow, as I plough through a few years of your posts – and with the weather the way it is here in the UK right now, I can’t think of a better way to spend an afternoon.
    Bex

  2. Wow, Bex. I am so humbled. What a special and sweet message! Thank you Thank you! I hope you enjoy most of the posts as you did this one! But, more, I hope it prompts you to pick up your pen ; )

Leave a Reply

